Where to start?

So much has happened since I last blogged. Some good, some bad a bit of change thrown in there to make things interesting:)

The sad, or perhaps this should be titled the heart breaking. We said good-bye to our beloved Scruffy. I knew it was coming. He was having problems with his heart and with each day I could feel it in my heart. I knew that we were losing him. My anxiety was at an all time high. It’s a horrible feeling to feel so helpless. The day we said good-bye my anxiety went away. It had been so long that I felt such calmness and the knot in my stomach loosened. I decided to get a little tattoo of tiny paw prints on the inside of my left wrist. I never walk alone and I know that my little boy is always with me.

IMG_3609 (1)

The good, we adopted a crazy puppy named Buster Boo. He needed a home and we needed some sunshine in our lives. He has helped us heal. He was brought into Vancouver from a kill shelter in California through a charity called Thank Dog I am Out. I have never adopted a dog before and I am so proud that we gave this little guy a chance at life. I only wish that we could save more. I was told that 6,000 dogs are euthanized in California every week. That is a horrible statistic. Just the thought makes me so sad.

IMG_4200

The change, I started a new job in November at a law firm. I never thought that I would work in a law firm again but I love it! Each day always brings something new and different. It is such a different atmosphere to what I am used to. The best part of my job is that I finish at 3pm every day! In the summer that will be amazing as we will be able to get on our bikes and get out and enjoy the rest of the day.

Winter has not been as bad as I thought. I always wondered how I would handle it? This winter has been quite a bad one. We had some cold days that were in the -20’s! Snow for days! It blows my mind when I see how much snow we have had. I always think what will happen when it starts to melt? Will we have severe flooding? Despite the cold temperatures and the snow, we have not let it hold us back. We get wrapped up in our ski clothes and go outside and take long walks and explore. The skiing has been amazing. We ski every weekend. We spend so much more time outside here then we ever did in Cayman. I know that sounds crazy, but most days were too hot to be outside for too long. On the weekends we would hibernate in the air conditioning!

IMG_4219

There are some things that we are still trying to figure out. Like finding a good yoga studio! Since moving to Whistler I have been to 2 classes. What?! #true story. It will happen in time. I find my body craving yoga and the community that comes with it. I have also been thinking about possibly teaching a class this year. I wouldn’t want to do it full time but it would be nice to use my teaching certification. Even if it is just to prove to myself that I can do it.

I said good-bye to my light blonde hair and went to the dark side. And I love it! I don’t know why I didn’t think of doing it sooner? I no longer look or feel washed out. I took my inspiration from the changes that fall brought with it. When I saw the leaves changing color, I thought ‘my hair should do the same too’. I was nervous when I made the appointment because it was such a huge change for me. But I have not looked back since.

The only thing that is constant is change. I am learning to go with the flow and not to fight it. The universe has a purpose and a path for all of us.

I hope that you have had an amazing weekend. Mine has been busy and filled with fun activities! I am going back to work tomorrow for a break!!!

Leave a Reply

